London Leadership Recognition Awards Ceremony

Congratulations to all our winners and finalists at the London NHS Leadership Recognition Awards night. The atmosphere was amazing, and we were delighted to pay homage to all the fantastic leaders across the NHS in London.

Opened by David Sloman in his final year as LLA Chair, the ceremony took place at the Royal Institute of British Architects and was hosted by actress and writer Nina Wadia. Nina has always championed the NHS and has led campaigns on diverse issues such as organ donation and renal care. Nina shared with delegates many of her personal experiences of healthcare; from the excellent care received by her Mum during a kidney transplant, to the amusing complications that come with fainting at the sign of blood when playing a neurosurgeon on Holby City...

There were eight Award Categories in total, which extremely high levels of competition across all of them. The results were:

1. NHS Emerging Leader of the Year
Winner: Felicity Taylor
Finalists: Damien Kelly, Mevan Gooneratne, Petrina Lineham
2. NHS Development Champion of the Year
Winner: Nicholas Gosling
Finalists: Sandra Bennett
3. NHS Inspirational Leader of the Year
Winner: Jane Apperley
Finalists: Helen Day, Victoria Griffiths
4. NHS Patient Champion of the Year
Winner: Lay Partner Advisory Group, North West London Whole System Integration Pioneer
Finalists: Lucy Wilson-Shaw, Nurun Nessa
5. NHS Mentor/Coach of the Year
Winner: Paul Trevatt
Finalists: Laura Santos, Raimondo Gallo
6. NHS Leadership Recognition Award for Outstanding Collaborative Leadership
Winner: Christine Caldwell, Tim Swanwick, & Sanjiv Aluhwali joint winners with Fliss Murtagh
Finalists: Christine Caldwell & Tim Swanwick
7. NHS Innovator of the Year
Winner: Daryl Belsey
Finalists: Alan McOwan, Arthur Tucker
8. NHS Leader of Inclusivity of the Year
Winner: Sandra Bennett
Finalists: Nicholas Gosling

Thank you to all judges, nominators, and shortlisters for taking the time to showcase these stories of outstanding leadership across the NHS, and well done to all the nominees, finalists and winners for leading the way in providing excellent healthcare to patients. You can follow all the Tweets on the night on our Storify here.